Protected galvanized screw piles, installed
AC228-compliant galvanized helical piles, Alberta installed rate $380–700/pile. Grouted variants excluded — they reintroduce cementitious material.
- Low
- $6,850
- Mid
- $9,350
- High
- $12,600
Project cost readiness
Change the home, site, utility strategy or delivery path and the range changes with it. Assumptions and missing quotes stay visible.
The cost story
Reference build: 800 sq ft, off-grid SIP, Part 9, owner-builder eligible, rural Alberta, land excluded on both sides. Comparing unlike homes would make the whole exercise worthless, so this is one home, priced twice.
In exchange for 12 to 24 months of your own labour and coordination. That is where the difference comes from, and it is the whole of the trade. Aura orchestrates the sequence, the quotes and the record; it is never your general contractor and it does not swing a hammer on your behalf. If you cannot give the project those months, price the builder column and plan from there.
Basis, verbatim from the model: Same home builder-delivered ex-land at $250-450/sqft hard + 25-40% soft; owner-builder saves 30-40% ($150-250K) for 12-24 months of labour
This comparison is an estimate, not a quote, on both sides. Every figure is read from data/alberta/cost-model.json, the researched Alberta model this whole site prices against.
Each bar is the running total once that line has landed, drawn against a single axis that ends at the top of the builder range. Lines marked your hands are the ones those months of labour are spent on. The bar shows where the running total has reached; the figure beside it is what that one line costs.
Where the two columns nearly meet: the top of the owner band, $443,900, is within touching distance of the bottom of the builder range, $450,000. An owner-orchestrated build that goes badly is not a cheap build. The saving is real and it is earned, not granted.
Working midpoint rollup
Tax basis
0% planning assumption — project sales taxes are excluded.
Planning range — not a quote
03 · Cost basis
| Scope | Basis | Status | Low | Mid | High |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FoundationProtected galvanized screw piles, installedTrade or supplier | AC228-compliant galvanized helical piles, Alberta installed rate $380–700/pile. Grouted variants excluded — they reintroduce cementitious material. | Modelled | $6,850 | $9,350 | $12,600 |
| ShellSip shell kit + erectionOwner-buildable | SIP kit incl. panels, splines, sealant; 12–20 week lead time from approved drawings. | Modelled | $31,150 | $43,650 | $57,150 |
| RoofStanding seam metal roof + underlaymentOwner-buildable | Metal roof $8–15/sq ft installed; required for the rainwater catchment. | Modelled | $12,100 | $17,450 | $24,200 |
| GlazingTriple-glazed windows and glazing walls, black anodised frames (3 openings)Owner-buildable | Alberta reference-size planning proxy, source date 2026-08: triple-pane $900–1,800 per window (Lux Calgary, All Weather Edmonton and Duxton Winnipeg, via data/alberta/cost-model.json), divided by an explicit 16 sq ft (4 ft × 4 ft) reference-size assumption to give $56.25, $84.38 and $112.50 per sq ft. The source does not state a reference window size: this is derived by division, not separately sourced, and is not a supplier quote or construction take-off. Quantity is glazed area with doors excluded; doors carry their own line. One rate covers punched windows and glazing walls: a large fixed lite buys glass more cheaply per square foot, while large-format framing, safety glazing, and installation cost more, and this codebase has a sourced figure for neither. NBC 9.36's prescriptive zone 7A FDWR reference is 22 percent, and nothing here checks a design against it. | Modelled | $9,900 | $14,850 | $19,800 |
| GlazingInsulated exterior doorsOwner-buildable | Entry and secondary egress at $700–1,600 per door, the previous two-door allowance of $1,400–3,200 divided by the two doors it assumed. Quantity is the exterior doors the design draws. | Modelled | $700 | $1,100 | $1,600 |
| EnergySolar array, 4.5 kWTrade or supplier | Off-grid array incl. racking + MPPT. Wiring is licensed work (CEC s.64). | Modelled | $9,450 | $12,150 | $15,300 |
| EnergyLiFePO4 battery bank, 12 kWhTrade or supplier | Cold-rated LiFePO4 with heated enclosure. | Modelled | $5,150 | $6,700 | $8,650 |
| EnergyWood stove + WETT-inspected chimneyOwner-buildable | WETT inspection required for insurance. | Modelled | $3,200 | $5,000 | $7,500 |
| WaterAtmospheric water generator (summer producer)Owner-buildable | Recommended on every Aura home, not mandatory. 10–20 L/day Jun–Sep; ZERO outdoors in winter. | Modelled | $3,500 | $5,000 | $8,000 |
| WaterBuried cistern, 5,000 L + pump and filtrationTrade or supplier | Poly tank, never concrete. Carries winter water. | Modelled | $8,000 | $12,000 | $18,000 |
| WaterRainwater catchment — gutters, first-flush, filtrationOwner-buildable | Roof catchment to the cistern; metal roof makes it potable-capable. | Modelled | $2,200 | $3,600 | $5,400 |
| WasteEcoflo-class septic + greywater biofilter, subsurface dripTrade or supplier | Certified installer by law. Greywater to subsurface drip irrigation, SOP 8.5. | Modelled | $12,000 | $18,000 | $28,000 |
| MechanicalHeat-recovery ventilator + ductingOwner-buildable | An airtight envelope requires mechanical ventilation. | Modelled | $3,200 | $4,800 | $7,000 |
| MechanicalPlumbing + electrical rough-in and finishOwner-buildable | Homeowner may pull their own permits under an Owner Builder Authorization. | Modelled | $11,200 | $16,000 | $22,350 |
| InteriorInterior fit-out — kitchen, bath, partitions, finishesOwner-buildable | Owner-buildable. Ranges swing hardest here. | Modelled | $20,750 | $33,550 | $52,750 |
| InteriorCork flooringOwner-buildable | Renewable, warm underfoot, quiet. Harvested without felling the tree. | Modelled | $4,450 | $6,400 | $8,950 |
| InteriorReclaimed timber interior joineryOwner-buildable | Salvaged stock; availability drives price. | Modelled | $3,500 | $6,500 | $12,000 |
| OutdoorWood-fired cedar hot tub + deckOwner-buildable | A first-class costed line item, not an afterthought. Deck $25–45/sq ft; no permit under 24in height. | Modelled | $8,000 | $14,000 | $22,000 |
| SiteSite preparation allowanceTrade or supplier | Broad allowance until slope, access, soil, clearing, drainage and driveway are known. | Quote needed | $8,000 | $20,000 | $50,000 |
| DeliveryDelivery and mobilization allowanceTrade or supplier | Broad allowance until the manufacturing or staging origin and road route are known. | Quote needed | $3,000 | $8,000 | $20,000 |
| Soft CostsPermits, design coordination, engineering and build insuranceTrade or supplier | Alberta pilot allowance. Authority fees, professional scope and insurance are reconciled when the parcel and delivery method are known. | Allowance | $7,500 | $12,000 | $20,000 |
AC228-compliant galvanized helical piles, Alberta installed rate $380–700/pile. Grouted variants excluded — they reintroduce cementitious material.
SIP kit incl. panels, splines, sealant; 12–20 week lead time from approved drawings.
Metal roof $8–15/sq ft installed; required for the rainwater catchment.
Alberta reference-size planning proxy, source date 2026-08: triple-pane $900–1,800 per window (Lux Calgary, All Weather Edmonton and Duxton Winnipeg, via data/alberta/cost-model.json), divided by an explicit 16 sq ft (4 ft × 4 ft) reference-size assumption to give $56.25, $84.38 and $112.50 per sq ft. The source does not state a reference window size: this is derived by division, not separately sourced, and is not a supplier quote or construction take-off. Quantity is glazed area with doors excluded; doors carry their own line. One rate covers punched windows and glazing walls: a large fixed lite buys glass more cheaply per square foot, while large-format framing, safety glazing, and installation cost more, and this codebase has a sourced figure for neither. NBC 9.36's prescriptive zone 7A FDWR reference is 22 percent, and nothing here checks a design against it.
Entry and secondary egress at $700–1,600 per door, the previous two-door allowance of $1,400–3,200 divided by the two doors it assumed. Quantity is the exterior doors the design draws.
Off-grid array incl. racking + MPPT. Wiring is licensed work (CEC s.64).
Cold-rated LiFePO4 with heated enclosure.
WETT inspection required for insurance.
Recommended on every Aura home, not mandatory. 10–20 L/day Jun–Sep; ZERO outdoors in winter.
Poly tank, never concrete. Carries winter water.
Roof catchment to the cistern; metal roof makes it potable-capable.
Certified installer by law. Greywater to subsurface drip irrigation, SOP 8.5.
An airtight envelope requires mechanical ventilation.
Homeowner may pull their own permits under an Owner Builder Authorization.
Owner-buildable. Ranges swing hardest here.
Renewable, warm underfoot, quiet. Harvested without felling the tree.
Salvaged stock; availability drives price.
A first-class costed line item, not an afterthought. Deck $25–45/sq ft; no permit under 24in height.
Broad allowance until slope, access, soil, clearing, drainage and driveway are known.
Broad allowance until the manufacturing or staging origin and road route are known.
Alberta pilot allowance. Authority fees, professional scope and insurance are reconciled when the parcel and delivery method are known.
Assumptions
Not included
04 · Real quotes
Map each vendor line to the Aura scope it covers. Missing work, allowances and stale dates remain visible.
0 quotes
Add the first quote without pretending it covers the whole build. Aura will compare only the scopes you map.